your questions to Albert. The best or most interesting will
be answered here.
If a team gets a penalty and they go a man down, what side of the field is the man taken from?
What if they go 2 men down? 3 men down?
This is a somewhat easy question to answer. For the first 3 penalties, they are really coming from the
midfielder position regardless of what position had the penalty.
The rules say that there must be 4 players on the defensive side of the field and there must be 3 players on
the offensive side of the field unless four or more men are in the penalty box.
In the event that four or more players (from one team) are in the penalty box, their team must keep three
players in the defensive half of the field and the rest can be on the offensive side.
What usually happens is that four long sticks are put on the defensive end along with one short stick
midfielder as the offensive team is usually "Man up". One of the long stick defensemen is really a midfielder
with a long stick and can go up field if his (defensive) team gets the ball.
There you have it.
My team was good last year, but in the tournament we had a lower position than a worst team that we beat in the regular season. How come we got robbed?
The Section Five Tournaments are "seeded" using a somewhat complicated formula. Your team earns "seeding points" for every game you play. The number of points you earn is based on the final win-loss record of your opponent and whether you win or lose. For example, if you beat a team whose record at the end of the season is 12-2, you earn 10 points (if you lost you would earn 4 points).
All of your points are added up and divided by the number of games played to determine your average. The team with the highest average is the top seed.
The interesting thing about tournament time is that anyone can win. Last year a number 4 seed beat a #1 seed in the semis of the Class A tournament. In the Class B tournament the #3 and #4 teams played for the championship. Maybe one of these teams was yours!
What is the official ruling on how to determine if an assist is recorded on a goal? Is there a maximum number of steps that the receiver of the pass can take?
Also what is the rule on ground balls? If someone gets a ground ball, then has the ball checked from their stick and then subsequently gets the ball from the ground again - is this also another ground ball?
You It may be hard to believe, but the Federation rules don't define stats. There is a reference to the scorekeeper's need to write down goals and assists, but there are no definitions.
For many years, NYS played by the NCAA rules (with a few modifications). The NCAA rulebook does define assists as:
"Any one direct pass by a player to a teammate who then scores a goal without having to dodge or evade an opponent other than the goalkeeper who is in the crease is recorded as an assist. There can be only one assist on any goal scored."
Generally speaking, the statisticians I know try to decide if the goal was the result of the pass. At the high school level, however, most are very liberal with posting of assists.
As to the ground ball question, only one ground ball would be credited.
I was just wondering, I thought that the Classes (A-B-C) were set up by the size of the schools. How come Geneva was in B last year and now they are in C?
You are right - size does matter - when it comes to determining which class a team is in. Schools with 649 or less students are in Class C. Schools with 650 to 999 are in Class B and Schools with 1000 or more are in Class A.
Schools in a lower class can request a placement in a higher class if they feel the need. This was the case last year when Geneva elected to move from Class C to Class B. This year they are staying in B (at this writing). Honeoye Falls-Lima is a moving up this year from C to B.